Board of Directors

JW-IMG_3992 (Small)

(left to right Director Vince Smith, Vice-President Charlie Brewster, President Mary Ann Lewis, Director Bob Ludecke, Director John Eminger)

Big Bear Municipal Water District is a California Special District governed by a five member board of directors with each director serving a 4-year term. The directors are elected by divisions equally balanced by the Valley’s latest census population. Elections are held every two years with elections for divisions 1, 2, and 3 open in the same year, and divisions 4 and 5 open in alternate even years. The offices of president and vice president are rotated annually by division.


Bob Ludecke

Division 1



Mary Ann Lewis

Division 2

Director Lewis was appointed to office in 2012. She has been a resident of the Big Bear Valley for over 24 years and was a teacher with the Bear Valley Unified School District from 1989 until her retirement in 2008. During her teaching career, she was a member of the Big Bear Elementary School Leadership Team, a mentor teacher, and an education consultant with the Consortium on Reading Excellence. In 1998 she received the San Bernardino County Education Medal of Honor. Lewis has volunteered for various community organizations and committees including the Bear Valley Arts Council, the Big Bear Storyfest, and the Amgen Hospitality team.


Charlie Brewster

Division 3



John Eminger

Division 4

Director Eminger took office in 2001 and served as president in 2004, 2007 and 2012. A long time resident of Big Bear, he moved here as a boy with his family in 1943 when they opened Bear Valley Market. Eminger graduated from Big Bear High School in 1952. While in high school, he joined Big Bear’s own 140th tank battalion National Guard and was activated and eventually fought in Korea. He was discharged a Master Sergeant and then spent the next 30 years in the family market business. He then opened and ran Eminger’s Mountain Greenery Nursery for 20 years. John Eminger was elected the first mayor of the City of Big Bear Lake and served on the city council for 8 years. After being re-elected for another 4-year term in 2009, Mr. Eminger declared the MWD board “The best board in the Valley!”


Vince Smith

Division 5

Director Smith took office in 2005 and served as president in 2008 and 2013. Smith has been a resident of Big Bear for over 30 years and is the owner of Riffenburgh Lumber Company. He has been a member of the Rotary Club for 10 years and the Big Bear Contractors Advisory Board for 2 years. Vince Smith was also proud to serve as the construction coordinator for the building of Big Bear’s Veterans Park.